Hummus. Monday. Husband.

I’m one of the few who like Mondays. Probably because I don’t have a regular job, the beginning of the week doesn’t signify the beginning of a work week. Its actually kind of like my Saturday, except much, much quieter.

So on this Monday I went to Napa to visit my friend Elyse and grab a quick snack. I also hit up Trader Joe’s, my new favorite place in the world. I’ve been a Whole Foods shopper for the past 3+ years, and I’m still getting used to the fraction of the price at TJ’s. Its kind of turning into my retail therapy (sad, yes).

Anyways, I finally bought some chickpeas to make homemade hummus. So easy. I know, you’ve probably been making homemade hummus for years and are thinking, “Duh, super easy.” Well, I may take a little longer, but I come around.

I got the recipe from the Delicious Shots blog that I discovered on Pinterest (follow me here). I’m really enjoying exploring this blog. Great, great photos.

Here’s the lowdown:

Ingredients:
 
1 15.5 canned chickpeas, drained
1/4 cup tahini
1/4 cup olive oil, plus more for garnish
2 garlic clove
the juice of 1 lemon
1/4 water (from boiled chickpeas)
salt to taste
paprika
 
Drain the chickpeas and place them in a medium saucepan, add water to cover them and boil the chickpeas for 5 minutes. Drain the chickpeas reserving 1/4 cup of water. Place all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth, taste for seasoning. Transfer to a serving plate and drizzle hummus with extra virgin olive oil and sprinkle with paprika.
And here’s the yumminess:
Image
I chowed down on this with the husband and in-laws with some TJ’s pita bread and sliced cucumbers.
Husband is back from Texas for the week, and he’ll be off again next weekend. Wah. But so, so glad to have him home with me for now. I’ll be taking care of him and feeding him good stuff. Maybe even more hummus.
And Cara was enthralled by the day’s activities, if you can’t tell.
Image
Not impressed, huh Cara?
Tonight I’m making pasta with chicken sausage, goat cheese, basil, roasted tomatoes, and spinach. Which I’m pretty excited about. Also excited about watching 21 Jump Street (the new one, with Channing Tatum ahem)! We saw it in theaters, but its hilarious, so we’re watching it again.
I hope you had a good Monday.
Leave a Reply

